I write incredible posts in my head while I’m cleaning toilets. By the time I get home, they’re gone. Sucks.

Anyway. Whoever recommended “Beekeeper’s Apprentice,” thank you so much. I can only manage a few pages at a time (because of life, not because of the book), but it’s got my attention. Firmly. Also, Stupidhead gave me some Sherlock Holmes crossover ghoul story, and it substitutes excessive verbiage for actual ideas. Weird, reading two books that start from the same place and end up so far, far away from each other.

We’re in the middle of a springtime drought here. I think it might be fairly normal, or at rate is becoming normal. The only grass fires I’ve seen have been controlled burns, to reduce the risk of wild fires. But then again, I’m not in contact with a lot of people, so I don’t really know. I haven’t smelled smoke on the way home. I carry a little bit of my prescriptions with me anyway now, and clothes to change into at the end of the day. I’ll just add in jammies and a sleeping bag, and be ready to split should the need arise. I’m not worried about fires coming into town, but if there is enough smoke, I’ll have to evacuate.

We had a “blood-borne pathogen” seminar yesterday at work. The life of a janitor is so exciting. I was starting to call it, “How to Succeed at Murder 101,” but other people took the idea and ran with it, and it got kind of icky, even for me. I apologize for going there.

I am becoming unrecognizably nice. I apologize for that, also.

Oh, but the point of talking about the drought, real or imagined, is that I was tired Thursday night and refused to go out and put the top back on my car, and drove to work with it off! Watching the sun rise and the stars fade and the sky slip from dark to light above me and around me, without having to scrunch down and crane my neck to see up and out.

Sometimes I do something that makes me feel ultimately sane.

I think it’s time to give up any pretense of enjoying working indoors, and start looking for at least a delivery job.

Last night the library had their “open all night” thing. We didn’t go. Beds are becoming too important to us, I think. But in honor of that, a picture of the bricks.

img_7363

