My friend came and visited! (Do I sound pathetic enough?)

I feel a little lost, having just moved up here. I’m trying to put down roots, but maybe that’s not what I should try to do; maybe that’s something that happens. Whatever.

So. We did what we do, which is talk, and then we went and took pictures, which is something I do a lot, but not with somebody. We talked f-stops and shutter speeds and ASA’s, and then of course converted it all to this new crap – aperture priority and time priority and ISO, and muttered about saying fuck it and going back to pinholes and film, which really I will do. (I saw somewhere on line somebody making pinhole lenses from body caps. $50, pick your camera. Yes.)

But we were a little rushed, and I wasn’t paying attention, and I’m a little ashamed. I messed up some things that shouldn’t have required any thinking. I don’t know what lesson I will take from this. Maybe don’t worry about it?

I worked for a professional photo lab back in the day, and we ran a bunch of images from The Walker Art Museum (modern art scum and all – I learned a lot), including one exhibit the Walker generated – artists making books. One book, a woman bemoaning the ties that bound her, the house and the laundry and the babies, and she wanted to belong to the sky again – an image of her flying away over her ironing board, or was it on it?

IMG_8220

That line comes back to me, again and again. “She wanted to belong to the sky again…”

