I try to keep politics out of here, because I want this to be my happy place, and because I don’t think clearly enough. The word I need usually escapes me; I think in shapes and generalities and I have trouble conveying my mental picture clearly. I don’t have time, I don’t have the memory to keep stupid things like facts in place. However, I think this article should be pushed around more. It points out what I think we can all see happening but don’t want to believe, and where it might go. And I think this can be shut down, but we have to stand up, and nobody will if they don’t see a real and present danger.

Fascist America; are we there yet?

Speaking about the Republicans, and the Teabaggers, and the Rush Limbaughs, and the disruptions at town hall meetings;

“These people can’t be serious. Sure, they’re angry — but they’re also a minority, out of power and reduced to throwing tantrums. Grown-ups need to worry about them about as much as you’d worry about a furious five-year-old threatening to hold her breath until she turned blue.

Unfortunately, all the noise and bluster actually obscures the danger. These people are as serious as a lynch mob, and have already taken the first steps toward becoming one.”

I don’t believe we are at the tipping point yet, but there is a threat. I keep going back to a comment I read (I think) over at Firedoglake, about how the crazy person runs the agenda. I sent it on to a friend of mine who is always calm and reasonable, who replied; “We can’t let the crazy person do that. We have to take control.” She was taking about a classroom – not our country.

I also think this is a strong call for pushing net neutrality. Without the internet, we will be flying blind.

(And yes, I caught the reference to the child throwing a powerless tantrum as a female child; I won’t let my resentment overrule.)

(h/t Suburban Guerrilla – and hey! Squeaky Fromme is scheduled for parole.)

