Here is a great essay on the life of Ted Kennedy.

“There went a man.”

And here’s a takeaway;

When George W. Bush dicked him over on No Child Left Behind funding, Kennedy had to know that a tide had shifted in a way that was going to make the entire process of legislating more rancorous and difficult. The political nature of the nation was moving into entrenchment, which was not how Ted Kennedy functioned.

That’s what we’re seeing, and fighting. That entrenchment that you recognize as the shadow of a bad relationship you once had, the boss that was the ultimate dick.

I wandered back through old posts, and realized I do talk a lot about politics. I’m not comfortable with talking about this stuff; I don’t think in words but in swoops and winding ribbons, and granite blocks that grind along, and running water, and that doesn’t make for a coherent political argument. I wouldn’t dare run for office, although maybe somebody coming from the left who gets pissed off and swears could make a difference. All I can do is point, and like that guy way back said, which is more real, the moon or the finger pointing at the moon?

And, how to make yogurt.

It’s all life.

