It’s coming on Christmas
They’re cutting down trees
They’re putting up reindeer
And singing songs of joy and peace
Oh I wish I had a river
I could skate away on

When I googled this, it came up “River Lyrics.” I like that. I think I found my new photo essay. And whoa! So much for the topic of this post, and being all depressed and moody. Wait a minute – I’m sure I can work myself up into a good funk, if I try.

It all started a few days ago. KmKat had a quiz up – “What Famous Dead Person Are You?” It had a question about your love life. Sheesh. This is something I don’t like to dwell on, Because I Have Been Flamingly Stupid My Entire Life, Thank You, And He Hurt Me, Ow, and I Am A Martyr To Love. And so on and so on… Whatever. It was fun, or interesting, or something. I suspect I might be the sort of person who has to have a dramatic narrative running in her life. Too bad I took it out on “luurrve” all this time instead of art. But, I’m not over.

A side effect of all this getting healthy stuff I’ve been doing this year; this has become the Year of Ripping Things Out and Starting Over. It started small. I cannibalized a hat that I never wore to make a pair of outrageous and funky fingerless mitts. Next I tore out a scarf that I was about a third through because it was just going to be dumb, no matter how hard I tried. Next will be a sweater. My neighbor lady convinced me that it was beautiful! And think of all that Work! And you could do this to it! But in the end it was a sloppy loose sweater, and not at all what I wanted.

I find this attitude astonishing.


No prize for these. No selling a pattern. But I worked out a loose cast-off, they’re warm, and they suit me. Take that, Ravelry.

Now that the deadline for the year is nearly here I’m settling in to negotiate between what I would like to make and what I’ll have time to make. Daughter wants a Jayne hat. I’m going to try out Vista for postcard xmas cards, because that’s what I want to do with my photography anyway. I think I’ll try making these bird ornaments for my support group at work.* Then there’s a possibility of knitting little stockings for some other people – out of worsted weight acrylic, so they will have nothing going for them but The Cute.

I think this is possible in 21 days. Especially if I quit reading political stuff.

_____________________________________________________________________

*I probably didn’t tell you about that. All three of us have a dead brother date in the end of September – beginning of October time frame. I was so terrified of this fall, and ended up starting work at 5 a.m. with two people who were just as freaked out by the time of year as I am. It was very comforting to find out I wasn’t a nutcase, but actually just human.

