So. “They” have put me on second shift, except it’s closer to second and a half shift, 5 p.m. to 1:30 a.m. The last building I work in is dimly lit, with lots of windows looking out into darkness. So, there are a lot of corner-of-the-eye glimpsed reflections. The bathrooms are just dark and creepy. I’ve been doing my best to clean them on the run, because they terrify me. A hint of “Silence of the Lambs”-in-the-dark-room terrify me. Do I love my job, or what?

But. The temperature dropped 20 degrees through my shift, 10 of that in the last two hours. I walked out into a clear night with hoarfrost and fog forming, and stars shining even through the lights of the parking lot. I started singing that Starship song…

Have you seen the stars tonight?
Would you like to go up on
A-deck and look at them
with me?
Have you seen the stars tonight?
Would you like to go up
for a stroll and keep me
company?

Did you know
We could go
We are free
Any place
You can think of
We can be

Have you seen the stars tonight?
Have you looked at all
the family of stars?

