Thesaurus

Main Entry: beginning
Part of Speech: noun
Definition: start of an event or action
Synonyms: alpha, basis, birth, blastoff, commencement, creation, dawn, dawning, day one, genesis, inauguration, inception, induction, infancy, initiation, installation, introduction, kickoff, onset, opener, opening, origin, origination, outset, point of departure, preface, prelude, presentation, rise, root, rudiment, source, spring, square one, starting point, takeoff, threshold, top

I did (suffered through is more the term) freshman orientation the last couple of days. I probably could have whined my way out of it, but (since I totally freaked out and panicked and whinged on till it was too late) I decided it might be fun. “Fun” really isn’t the word. Strange and stressful come to mind much sooner.

Rubicon crossed, threshold passed, ritual performed, door opened.

So, yeah, I’ll be a 56-year-old starting over at college.

Lessons learned:

  • Don’t get a little mini notepad. I almost broke several.
  • Take the little pink pills much, much earlier (see note about notepads).
  • Go for long morning walk.
  • Eat better.
  • DON’T drink the 32 oz. Starbucks Frapucchino any time you will be anywhere near other mortals.
  • Earplugs.
  • I’ve been waiting a long time.

