Is this “the banality of evil”?

Up at Suburban Guerrilla, an interview with Kindra Arnesan, a Gulf coast resident;

At any rate, for the past week I’ve heard in the OPS meeting “We need to cut costs.”

(audience response incredulous)

Yes, (nodding head) That’s what they’ve said, that they need to cut costs.

I almost came out of my chair the first time I heard it, but I’m trying to stay where I am because someone has to be on the inside overlooking and seeing as to what’s going on around. That being said, where I’ve seen “cutting costs” is quite unfortunate. What we call in Venice… First we gotta understand this phrase: “Ponies and balloons.”

Well, the only place I”ve ever seen “ponies and balloons” is at the circus. Right? At any rate, about a week and half in, I learned what “ponies and balloons” meant. “Ponies and balloons” means that every time an official is headed anywhere near here, they get a heads up.. All assets are deployed into the hardest hit areas. The official comes in, flies over, “good job, fellas” (waves), pats ‘em on the back. When that official disappears out of the hardest hit area, so does 75%-80% of the response.

(cut)

I came back here four and a half years ago and rebuilt on dirt because this is my home and I love Louisiana . I live right out in the middle of nowhere, boondocks. The bottom line here is, that if the country does not stand up and say “NO MORE!” we must take action. we cannot sit back, and if this stuff does not stop guys, this is gonna go global. It will destroy 1/3 of the world’s water. Bank on it. They do not stop this, ever ocean is connected. It will go on and on and on as my daughter says “infinity+2″

Ms. Arnasan has taken her two daughters out of the area because their health is affected. She describes large fish kills. She states that BP will not let anyone work wearing a respirator. SG has the video and the whole interview transcript up at her site. Please go read it.

(I was searching for the Australian 60 Minutes transcript she mentions and found this forum thread. and this quote;

There’s an international conference just starting to see if a total collapse of world fish stocks can be avoided. Prognosis not good. Discussed here? Not a chance.

All speculation, but…)

