(Can we get more heavy here? Sheesh. I’m uncomfortable showing this side of me, but I’m trying to be all of what I am, so here it is. Plus, the first thing I thought of this morning was the Gulf of Mexico. I think we’re out of time for shilly-shallying.)

Anyway. Found a link the this article, “Why Power is Not a Dirty Word.”

In Getting a Grip 2: Clarity, Creativity and Courage for the World We Really Want, I suggest that we humans find our power only as we embrace the totality of our complex nature: accepting that, yes, we are hard-wired (or at least, “soft-wired”) to be caring and cooperative problem-solvers. And at the same time, lab experiments, as well as current and past genocides, prove that under the right (wrong) conditions, most of us will brutalize others.

It’s tough to truly accept that both attributes exist within virtually all of us, but the payoff for taking this mental leap is huge.

Yeah, it’s a plug for a book, but also, a call to sensibility. I’ve talked about it here before, the way we’re all born as compassionate people and that we learn that we’re supposed to be bad-asses. Think about the Man vs. Woman thing. Really, how stupid can we be? We are all a part of one species. We should take care of each other, not just our own.

Of course, once you go there, then you lose races, and countries. And then if you’re not careful, you start to forget how wonderfully important you are as a human, and maybe think about other creatures, and then where are you? Just one of many, awash in a sea of stars.

“What makes a man a man? A friend of mine once wondered, is it his origins, the way he comes to life? I don’t think so. It’s the choices he makes; not how he starts things, but how he decides to end them.”

John Meyers, in “Hellboy.”

And “Imagine.”

I hear Ringo is turning 70 this week. We’d better get on the stick.

