Of a non-traditional student. There. That’s a nice way to put it.

I’m official now. I dropped my first class. It was a freshman thing, geared to get young people all excited about Big Learning, or something. I was hesitant from the start being as it was a freshman special. I was right. There’s just nothing like feeling like a freak in a class titled, “The Psychology of Monsters.” I hemmed and hawed about quitting, because it was all about the development and propagation of prejudices and it sounded so interesting, but I decided I just didn’t like feeling so remarkably out of place. I went to the instructor, a psychologist, and asked her if I should drop the class. Her answer? “I’ve been teaching long enough that I won’t take it personally.”

So.

I decided to stay with the Art Building People, because I’m way more normal there. I came out of metals class (which is the best class I have ever taken in my life ever), and was feeling pretty good. I saw a woman at the end of the hall carrying a tote with musical symbols on it so I stopped and asked her if she knew anything about taking violin lessons here. She said she didn’t know, and then the woman standing across from us politely butted in and introduced herself. OH BY THE WAY I’M ERIN ALDRIDGE THE CONCERTMASTER OF THE DULUTH SYMPHONY!!!!!!!!! Okay, she didn’t say it that way, but every time I mention violin on this campus I get this pep talk because HOW COOL IS IT TO HAVE HER WALKING ON THIS CAMPUS WITH US MERE MORTALS?????? Anyway. She’s setting up some sort of conservatory, where students will teach other people. It won’t be for credit, but IT WILL BE!!!! In case you haven’t noticed, I am so excited. This was the last little chunk of my dreams about going back to school.

Okay. Gotta run. Poetry and Drama next.

My life is so awesome.

