And even stranger, it’s a job I like.

I got hired at the women’s shelter as a back-up overnight/ weekend advocate. Which means I get paid to hang out and answer the phone. And sleep. And talk to the clients and stuff. The environment is one of warmth and caring and quality, not get-it-done-NOW!!!! I think it will be a while before I adapt.

So I’m thinking this will be a once-in-a-blue-moon thing, except that the Wednesday night – Thursday night advocate got sick, and there I am working. And what with the new and slightly spooky situation, not sleeping too terribly well.

I finally get enough of a nap to function this afternoon. I’m reading Astrobarry’s take on the planetary influences with all the stuff that’s going on. He’s talking about the birthday for the United States being the signing of the Declaration on the Fourth of July, and my first thought was, “Wow. Working on a holiday like that!”

No operating heavy machinery for me for a while.

Print I did last term, hanging in my bedroom. I’ve lived here two years, and I just got curtains I like, and now this picture. I think I’ll put up some of my tree photos too. There’s more than one wall, you know.

