They put up this absolutely wonderful new classroom building on campus. It’s big and shiny and new, yet somehow it feels intimate and energetic. I’m not big on new architecture most of the time, but this building is cool. The floors in the main areas are poured, with shiny flakes in the matrix. I spent the first ten minutes I was in the building looking at the floor from all different angles. I’m still impressed every time I go in.

They did some neat things, like light ledges – platforms that extend into the room near the top of the window, to bounce light onto the ceiling and around the room.

Those shade things, which have a real name, that let in less light in summer and more in winter.

And these trellises at the front of the building.

I’m putting them in front of my imaginary house.

