But first, prove you are not a spam-bot.

When I quit commenting, you’ll know why. I am not a spam-bot, but I am also not a mind-reader.

Anyway. Daughter and I drove up to Cornucopia for a swim this afternoon.

I was thinking on the way about how many times we’ve hopped in the car to go for a – okay, to be honest, a “bob up and down with the waves,” not a swim. I got thinking about that summer we went over to Neumann Lake at least five times a week, and once twice in one day. It was normally pretty deserted – I went skinny-dipping one time in the middle of the day, hung my suit on a boundary pole – it felt great, by the way. And when there were people there it was usually just moms and kids. On the way home we would listen to a tape of music from “Rabbit Ears We All Have Tales” stories, waiting for this one song by Bobbie McFerrin, and if there was no traffic I’d swoop from side to side of the road along with the music.

So we’re bobbing along in the water today, decent swells more than a foot crest to trough, laying stretched out to let the waves turn you, floating feet-first into the waves which lifts your feet and lowers your head so that the next wave along is bound to whack you in the face, leaning into a wave to stumble forward when it lets you go and then the next one catches you off-balance, watching the swells farther out start growing and putting on little caps of white. I turned to Daughter and asked, where do waves come from? and she gave me some answer straight out of Bill Nye the Science Guy. And then we played some more.

Eventually we admit it’s cold and we head back in, walking in to the point where all of a sudden you have to hold your own self up and you stumble under your own weight, get in to shore where there’s a steep little ledge going up to the beach and the sand washes out from under your feet and it takes five steps to make it up this little incline. Sit on the blankets feeling sun and warm breeze on your arms, watching the mother and her daughter and her daughter’s daughter and thinking about all the times it was me and Daughter, looking at all the people on the beach just there for a few minutes to watch the water, to listen to the waves come in, and Daughter turns to me and says, it’s like you can still feel the waves, inside.

