The purpose of a college education should never ever be about the money.

The purpose of a college education should not be so I don’t have to get my hands dirty.

The purpose of a college education should never be to prove that I am better than the person who scrubs the toilets in my office building.

The purpose of a college education should be to say that I walked into this room every day for four months, and I practiced taking problems apart and putting them back together again.

The purpose of a college education should be to enable a person to say I walked into a room every day for four months and took something apart and put it back together. Now I am stronger than I was. I can take your problems apart, and put them back together, correctly.

If we do not accept this as the true meaning of a college education, we will start setting the standards lower and lower, till we end up with some people considered Delta class people, who never get past kindergarten. And we will have all lost untold treasure.

“Don’t hand me your line, and keep your hands to yourself.”

