A book by Naoki Higashida, about living with autism;

“When you see an object, it seems that you see it as an entire thing first, and only afterward do its details follow on, But for people with autism, the details jump straight out at us first of all, and then only gradually, detail by detail, does the whole image sort of float up into focus. What part of the whole image captures our eyes first depends on a number of things. When a color is vivid or a shape is eye-catching, then that’s the detail that claims our attention, and then our hearts kind of drown in it, and we can’t concentrate on anything else. (pg. 59)”

I had a lot more copied out, but I want you to read it. Illuminating, maybe, is the word I want, except I’ve seen a lot of it. Maybe it’s like some pain that’s been bugging you and then somebody describes it and you go Yeah! Maybe I’m thinking you should read it, so you can see the straight up freaking all-out courage people on the spectrum have, to face the world every day – I don’t know. Words fail me. Maybe you should read it.