Today has started well. I had something interesting/puzzling in my inbox, which caused me to research an idea, which led to twelve open tabs, three of which were philosophers. Also, I still have questions about the definition of civilization.*

Yesterday was rough and stressful at work, ending with a big ugly stinky boom. But I salvaged the day, beginning with taking Katniss for a walk. Then I moved to Wreck This Journal;

IMG_0417

IMG_0419

IMG_0422

I started at the upper left corner (upper right to you) drawing circles, slowly switching to pebbles thrown up on the shore.

I went downstairs to color some of the pebbles, and Katniss, as is her wont, followed me downstairs and jumped up on my table and walked across the book and drank out of the water cup, as is her wont. Proving that I must continue on painting with watercolors, to encourage her renal health.

Oh, shoot! I almost forgot the most important bit! Today’s Melville;

Already we are boldly launched upon the deep; but soon we shall be lost in its unshored, harbourless immensities.

I … I can smell the air and see the horizon all around, and grasp the sense of liminal space. We have entered the myth.

A few pages on, Melville writes his sarcastic treatise on cetology, marking out what fools we are to pretend to know.

*(And then I erupt into a fountain of things I want to know. Sheesh.) Descartes, Hume, Jaspers, Civilization, Late Bronze Age collapse, Iron Age, Axial Age, Rectilinear Polygon, Art Gallery Problem, Karaoglan. Mostly Wiki pages with a couple of Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy pages. And civilization as defined starts in the Neolithic, which seems a little arbitrary to me. Also, Axial Age is contemporaneous with the development of coins, which seems to imply to me more trade than the wiki allows for. Or maybe the trade came after. I don’t know.

There are so many things I don’t know.

