IMG_0475

It was hot that day, okay?

We’ve had Katniss for just under two years, now. I think she’s starting to think we’re okay.

I worked till eight yesterday, came home and settled into my settle-down routine. Katniss ignored me for a while, then came out into the living room and started running around. So, I dragged the Scariest Toy Ever around for about 30 seconds, and sat back down. Not good enough.

Katniss has a thing where she acts like she wants to sit on my lap, but is really just using me as a shortcut – to the window, or to the keyboard of my laptop. So, yes, sit on my keyboard. Open all those functions that I don’t know how to get to. Let me scritch you. Lie down and let me scritch you. Fall asleep with me scritching you. Let me carefully gently pick you up and slip you onto my lap and scritch you.

First time ever, that she let me hold her on my lap. Not for long, but a few minutes.

So, I have to be back to work in less than 12 hours, so I go to bed early. She’s sitting in the window when I come in to the bedroom. I say hi, tell her I’m going to bed, start putting on jammies – and she comes down from the window and curls up on my bed. And stayed there while I got under the covers and curled up.

First time.

She didn’t there stay very long either, but beds are pretty scary to her. Like feet used to be, like some laps are, like sudden noises and things lying on top of her. Like people walking by 50 feet away when she’s outside. But bringing home a kitteh and letting her see that people aren’t whatever it was she went through that tiny bit she wasn’t living in the shelter, makes me feel so good. Teaching her that words have meanings, that Kitteh means her, that we’ll come to her aid, that we’ll feed her when she’s hungry. I’m pretty happy.

