The wind is crazy here, and my prayer flags are in tatters.

I woke up this morning to the realization that I had left my iron on – last weekend, I think.

Met my state senator, who was talking about Walker’s state budget, to be passed by July 1st. Almost burst into tears in a room full of strangers.

And why didn’t anyone tell me about Lawrence Ferlinghetti? I’m reading “Coney Island of the Mind.” I was born during the beat generation. I think it’s my home.

And also, I am officially old enough to be a grandmother, mentally. Two people came banging at my door yesterday, and I’d decided I didn’t care who they were or what they were selling, they were coming in to get out of the cold.

Unfortunately, they were selling Girl Scout cookies. I drew the line at three boxes.

They came while I was baking a spice cake (with garam masala replacing the cinnamon). I take breaks on occasion and eat food.

