Dr. Seuss’s birthday. Back where I used to live, the locally-owned grocery store would make sugar cookies for the occasion, with a disc of white frosting topped with a green blob. Green eggs, right? It was pretty cool. Always bought them.

Today was one of those days at work. We need two signatures on the checks, and there are four signers. One’s down with a bad back, one’s mother is in the hospital, and one’s out on the coast somewhere. The one with the bad back is also the metaphorical backbone of the place. Without her there, I feel like I’ve been dropped in the middle of the ocean. One of the members came in to the office and said, “Hey, I think So-and-so just had a small seizure. I didn’t know what to do.” I get up and out the front door, but he’s two blocks away, so I call his case worker, because he’s obviously okay, but what does this mean?

But first thing this morning, I noticed the air. It was still just above zero, but there was a different note in the air, hot sun on thick snow. Spring is coming.

