ETA: Okay. You can ignore most/some/all of this. It looks like Colinette is shutting down. I wonder why. (Eye roll, please.)

It’s all true.

So, a year ago? Two? Kmkat came up and we went yarn shopping in Bayfield, because that’s how we roll.  I bought a pretty pretty skein of Colinette Jitterbug, colorway Copper Beech.  And it sat in its bright red bag, mocking me, daring me to come up with a pattern that would do it justice. (Why do I buy yarn like that? I have a cat. I don’t need more torment.)

Time to get on a plane, hours of enforced sitting in one place, must find pattern.  So I checked out Ravelry, and found Reyna, and it was good.  And I got on the planes and read my book and was too busy and didn’t pick up the knitting till the last day and screwed up in the first four rows three times and put it down and didn’t touch it for a week after I got back. But I’ve made progress! Lots of progress.IMG_2032

Gratuitous garbled still-on-needles beauty shot. However, I have 28 rows with over 200 stitches each left, and a baseball-size ball of yarn. I could go back to Bayfield and see if they have another skein, or I can go online and find the same yarn for $10 cheaper.  So I did that instead, and we all know how this goes.

IMG_2039

I feel hurt and betrayed. There are entirely other colors in this new ball, above and beyond the whole, “oh, it’s completely different – huh” vibe I’m getting. And the bits of color are about twice as long as they are in the first skein. The original was dyed in February 2013, the new one was dyed in August. Seasonal affective disorder? Yeah, yeah, every other row blend it in no one will notice be sure to buy enough yarn for your project even though the pattern you end up using hasn’t been written yet it’s not our fault- and you’ll have this half ball of yarn that you wanted to make something co-ordinating with, that doesn’t match.

I know, totally whiney. Maybe it’s an extension of the hat curse – I was going to make a hat to match, I love hats, I love making them, I look like Cousin Itt. An advantage of having tried and failed so often to start this project was that I finally cast off one of the attempts and washed/blocked it, so I know how soft and lovely this is going to be. And yes I apologize for something – I’m not sure what, since the pattern calls for 400 yards on size 4 needles, which is what I’ve got going on, and maybe I have enough yarn to come kind of close. But this isn’t exactly subtle. Argh. I don’t know, it just seems like this is sort of beyond normal. I apparently am wrong. And I’ve got hours into the scarf, and I’ve rolled up the new yarn. Just ack.

IMG_2044

Stitch markers. I make them. The two-loop bit has benefits; you can catch the other loop and pull it off the needle, and also you can wrestle the yarn from the yarn-over under the second loop, so it doesn’t slide under the stitch marker.

IMG_2020

I’m thinking $10 for 2, plus a couple bucks for shipping, the infinity markers at $8 each. The needles shown are 4, 5, and 7. I can give you actual measurements if you want. They’re copper and brass, with silver solder at the joins, and sanded to actual smoothness. I can finish them with fingernail polish to keep them from tarnishing, if you want. I’m looking into acrylic sprays, too. But right now, they’re raw. I don’t mind it, but then again, I’ve got a Dremel in the basement just for polishing things.

IMG_2037

It really is pretty yarn.

 

 

 

 

