I’ve noticed that I’m all over the board lately. Really, I’m thinking about it. But I don’t know who I want to be when I grow up. Actually, I do. I want to be somebody who always has twenty bucks to drop on some whim or another. The fact that whims come by the trainload and that that twenty would have to be a full hundred to get me through a normal day of whimsey is something of a deterrent. That, and the fact that I don’t live in the TARDIS.

Anyway. Salvation Army Doughnuts, from a site I’ve just found, Killing the Buddha.

The Salvation Army Doughnut Recipie
Not even hearts and minds are enough to win the war for lost souls. Here’s a recipe for filling their bellies, from the Salvation Army’s website (www.salvationarmyusa.org):

7 1/2 Cups Sugar
3/4 Cup Lard
9 Eggs
3 Large Cans Evaporated Milk
3 Large Cans Water
18 Cups Flour
18 Teaspoons Baking Powder
7 1/2 Teaspoons Salt
9 Teaspoons Nutmeg
Cream sugar and lard together beat eggs into mixture. Add evaporated milk and water. Add water to creamed mixture. Mix flour, baking powder, salt and nutmeg in large sieve and sift into other mixture. Add enough flour to make a stiff dough. Roll and cut. Five pounds of lard are required to fry the doughnuts.

Yields: Approximately 250 Doughnuts

I don’t know. It might come in handy some day. Like the good Doctor said, “Never throw anything away. You never know when it might come in handy.”